France unveils capital cities of new super regions


In January 2016 the number of regions in France will be reduced from 22 to 13 as part of a major reform of local government. Last week the government announced the names of the capital cities of these larger regions. But as Feriel Alouti reports, the debate over the way this reform was carried out and the likely impact of the changes still continues.

Reading articles is for subscribers only. Subscribe now.

First there was the announcement of the boundaries of France's new super regions. Now the French government has revealed the names of the capital cities of those new regions. These were unveiled last week, on July 31st, as ministers met at their last cabinet meeting before the summer break.